Electioneering and grandstanding: how to tell the difference between a moral political party and a moralistic one.

I don’t often reblog but this piece by Sue Jones is so good that I’d like to pass it on. The difference between moral and moralistic politics – the politics of achievement and the politics of grandstanding – is one on which we in Brighton and Hove, with our grandstanding and failing Green council, know about at first hand. At the lessons for those of us who want to get rid of Cameron and Osborne are powerful and obvious.

Politics and Insights

1796655_294409220710133_3373329_nThis past four years or so, I’ve watched the media distort the truth, often removing it from a meaningful context and twisting it out of recognisable shape. Or very often avoiding it altogether. I’ve watched minor parties claiming to be on the Left do the same, too, and I won’t ever forgive them for that. Nonetheless we have done our best to share truths and information and to decode rhetoric and re-translate lies.

One thing I can do is analyse social policy, I’ve a perceptive and predictive eye for how policies will affect us – the implications and probable consequences – well before they are implemented. The last four years will bear that out. It’s not just because I studied it, it’s also because I see underpinning ideology, too. I recognise that policy is comprised of a set of scripted motives and intentions on the part of any government and…

View original post 1,917 more words

Leave a Reply

